Cursing God

A hammer to the thumb or a thumb in the eye, wrong is always bound to happen.  Wrong is a normal way of life.  Perhaps things going wrong in life is one of the most “normal” things.  Have you ever known anyone who had nothing wrong happen in their life, or even attempted to argue otherwise?  I think we can agree that wrong is regular and natural.  But, I wonder, has wrong always been regular and natural, and will it always be these things?

When trying to answer questions, I try to reduce things to their fundamental elements in attempt to discover  their essence, origin, meaning and significance.  So, given this methodology and my beliefs, it is likely no surprise that my mind immediately gravitates to the story of Adam and Eve – human’s introduction to wrong.  Namely sin and its consequences – the epicenter of all our definitions of wrong, however varied they may be.   The Garden of Eden is ground zero for all the things we believe and say, “that’s not how it ought to be,” or the converse.

And then, as a discursionists, it is likely no surprise that I begin to wonder another thing… whether or not God granted free will to Adam and Eve.  I actually think this is an important distinction to the main point of this discursion, which I will now introduce.  Why do some people curse God when things go wrong?  I suppose cursing something indicates that which we believe has responsibility.  In essence, the word “responsibility” means the ability to respond.  So, I suppose it could be somewhat natural for a person to curse God if they believe that God has the ability to respond.  However, and all commandments against cursing God aside, I think such a person may be demonstrating not only a real volatile relationship with God, but also rather short-sighted theology.

If God granted Adam and Eve free will, and instructed Adam and Eve what not to do, then who is really responsible?  The one who grants options and freedom of choice, or the one who chooses an unwise option?  God entrusted Adam and Eve with great responsibility (along with free will), and at least with two distinct and important charges.  First, God gave Adam and Eve the responsibility to “tend and keep” the Garden of Eden (see Genesis 2:15), which I would argue has as much spiritual implication as physical.  Second, God said: “Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat, but of the tree of knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall surely die” – Genesis 2:16-17.  In giving these commands, which appear to be interrelated, God made known to Adam and Eve their duties, the curse of death, the distinction between right and wrong, and the transfer, or perhaps better stated, the empowerment of responsibility.  God gave Adam and Eve the responsibility to do right so that wrong would not be known on earth.  Adam and Eve were the original human stewards (notice the interconnection of faith and works?). 

Of course, one could still argue that God ought to be cursed when things go wrong because He enabled – because God made them, or because God gave them free will.  My response would be to ask them if they would prefer not to have ever existed, or if they wish they had no choice to think or do what they please in life (I’m sure the Calvinists are chomping at the bit by now).  And, of course, one could argue that God ought to be cursed because God could intervene as He, of all, has the ability to respond.  But, that argument is diversionary and missing the point of stewardship and its implications.

The accounts in Genesis make it quite clear that Adam and Eve had knowledge of, so it would follow that they had a responsibility to care for that which was entrusted to them by God.  Adam and Eve set aside their knowledge and in doing so didn’t take care of that which they ought.  As a result, Adam and Eve are responsible for human wrong and all related consequences that disseminated the earth.  So, let me propose that if you feel like cursing God, at least curse Adam and Eve instead, or better yet sin itself – that which is contrary to the nature of God, that which is wrong and that which is not how it ought to be.

– Terrence

*Origin of Discursion: Thinking about things that have recently gone wrong in my life and what I do to vent and make the most of things.

11 Comments

Filed under Terrence

11 responses to “Cursing God

  1. Josiah

    I have never wanted to comment here before because I feel like anything I would have to say would be nothing more than a clanging gong. There seem to be enough learned minds posting here that it is often more educational to just read the posts and comments, but I feel that I might be in a unique position to comment. So, here goes nothing. (This is coming at you sort of “stream of consciousness” so hang on, it might get hairy.)

    Five years ago when I was first diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, I was mad. I am not really sure why I was mad though, or even with whom I was mad. I just was mad. But in time the treatment “cured” me and I was back to living a normal life. The biggest source of the anger, I think, was actually fear. I was afraid because I didn’t understand why this was happening, and I didn’t understand what it all meant.

    Then last fall I was again diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Disease. This time I was angrier than ever. Again, I don’t know whom I was angry with or what being angry would accomplish, but I was plain old mad. And it only got worse. I have had stretches of time where I was at peace with what I am experiencing, and the anger was not present, but it usually ended up finding its way back to me. This time, the anger was based on an actual sense of being wronged more than it was based on fear. Most recently I have been faced with the thought of my son growing up without a father, and my wife becoming a widow. These are both things that make me sad and angry.

    Through all of this though I have never felt the need to curse God. To me, there is nothing to be gained in cursing God. Either God caused this to happen or he didn’t. If He did, then cursing God is questioning his will, and placing me in contention with Him, which doesn’t really accomplish much. If God did not cause it to happen, then cursing Him achieves nothing. It would be like cursing the bag boy at the grocery store for my mail not coming on time.

    But perhaps there is something to be gained in not cursing God. If God did not cause this to happen, and I do not curse him, then I suppose God and I are square right? But If God did cause this to happen, and I accept it as his will, then perhaps there will be some greater good that will come out of it that I can not understand or comprehend. Most likely not even for me, but a greater good for his people?

    I understand that there are likely many theological concepts that could be unpacked from what I have had to say, and that is cool if you all want to do that. I don’t really have the time or the brainpower for it. Maybe if I am feeling up to it I will answer some questions or post responses to comments. (Interesting side note: Chemo apparently damages some short-term memory and the ability to reason. I thought it was just me, but other cancer patients I have talked with have commented on “Chemo brain.” It’s like you can sense that your mind should be sharper, but you just can’t put two thoughts together.)

    I guess what I am trying to say with all of this verbiage is that I made peace with God about what I am going through and have chosen not to curse God. Theologically, I think that it is wrong because, “…does not the potter have a right over the clay, to make from the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for common use?” (Romans 9:21) (There are probably better verses that say essentially the same thing) Some may see that as terribly subservient, but that is what I believe. Practically I think that cursing God is pointless because it will not accomplish anything. There is nothing to be won in cursing God except a possible fleeting sense of well being after one releases the anger and tension borne inside them. And this anger and tension can be released in so many other constructive ways. So I suppose that the only realm that offers a benefit to cursing God is the psychological realm. But again, that is so fleeting as to be pointless. I have found much greater peace by accepting that this thing has happened to me, and focusing more on dealing with it and looking to the future, whether it holds death or life.

    Tacking this on the end: Job never cursed God. Job cried, groaned, mourned, cursed the day of his birth, fell into depression and wished that he had never been born, but the Bible says the he “never sinned” by cursing God. (Sorry I don’t have the reference) I think one of the best parts of scripture is when after almost the entire book of Job passes with Job never faulting God, God responds to Job by asking him “Who is this that darkens counsel By words without knowledge? Now gird up your loins like a man, And I will ask you, and you instruct Me! Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell Me, if you have understanding, Who set its measurements? Since you know. Or who stretched the line on it?” (Job 38)

  2. Josiah

    Just to clarify that last paragraph, I accidentally combined two thoughts into one.

    I like that Job never cursed God, but Job did whine like mule about what he was going through and eagerly sought someone to act as an arbiter between he and God, someone to plead his case to God, as if he had something to say to God. Then, in the last part of the Book, God speaks up and sort of sarcastically slaps Job down for speaking his “words without knowledge” and tells him to man-up and accept what was happening. I don’t know why that seems so cool to me.

  3. Josiah, thank you so much for your comments. Very touching and a great testimony. My thoughts and prayers are with you. May you continue to trust God. May God restore your health.

  4. Breonna Bachman

    This is a very good discussion- Although I’m joining it rather late- The title drew me in (I’m sure no intention of the author 🙂 ). The points that this argument makes are exactly the points that people who curse God need to really think about. It is so arbitrary to curse God for things happening to us because first: WE have been given the REPONSIBILITY to take charge in our life. We are the caretakers of our self. GOD only has the responsibility in our lives if we GIVE it to Him. At that point He has been given Permission to enter our lives & direct it/inspire it/enhance it or lead it. At this point, let’s say, if I gave up my will to God & felt that He was saying to sell everything I have & give the money away, He would be responsible to protect & provide for me after I was left with nothing. But after giving Him my will & trusting him for the outcome, I have to continually give decisions in my life to Him. It can’t stop there. For if I sold all I had & then gave the money away but then did not trust God to take the responsibility, which I gave Him, to take care of me, I might go out panhandling (Sp?) and then get beat up. Then lying on the sidewalk I’d curse God because “He didn’t take care of me”. But at this point I can’t cures God because, let’s say, He told me to go talk to the cashier at the gas station & that person would give me a place to stay & food to eat. But I didn’t listen to God but took back the “responsibility” and acted out on my own. Then while I’m lying on the side walk after trying my hand at begging, I would have only myself to blame for not having listened to God.

    The other side of this is: WHO is to say what God can & cannot be cursed for not having prevented or taken control of?! So say a teenage girl is DYING to go out with her boyfriend one night & give herself away. She has this gut feeling that she shouldn’t (maybe God’s prompting, maybe carnal instincts) and she doesn’t follow it. She goes out, he charms her & she has a wonderful night until he takes away her precious gift. In this circumstance, at the end of the night- Does she really have the right to curse God? Because God never wanted that to happen but if He would have said NO & prevented her from going on that date, she may still have cursed Him for not letting the events of the night take their course. So you see that God has His hands tied in this arena. He could be cursed for preventing “good things” that will turn into bad things or cursed for letting bad things happen which He may have wanted to prevent in the first place. No one can be the unbiased judge here- It comes down to this- If you, acting out of your own free will, make a decision outside of the voice of God’s leading in your life- YOU are ultimately the one to curse if you decide you don’t like the outcome. It’s irrational & childish to rip a gun out of someone’s hands to see how it works & them curse them because you shoot youself in the foot. The problem is that most people who curse God for bad things happening in their life would never go to the great or short lengths to see the “other” side of the equation.

  5. I am ashamed to say I curse God even though I am born again. It is satan’s grip on me and it is holding me back, please pray for me.

  6. vaden

    wade,

    i’m with you. i, too, am born again, but have for the last year regularly cursed God for many reasons, quite vociferously i might add.
    i’ll agree with you in prayer that we move past this and into a new place of rest and trust; rekindling the joy of our salvation.

    vaden

  7. it jobs are very much in demand these days because of technology boom,.”

  8. Tanya

    wow.. I could never curse God… but I guess some people just do. I would be afraid to do so… the bible does say do not fear man, but fear the one who can put your soul in hell… I don’t understand that..

  9. I also have been having these cursing thoughts and dont know where they come from, the sad part is am so much in love with God but these thoughts are driving me apart from him and to the extent of insanity….. after reading all thats written here, i will take a stand and fight this impure thoughts.
    Thank you JESUS

  10. A Word of Warning

    @Tanya

    wow.. I could never curse God… but I guess some people just do. I would be afraid to do so… the bible does say do not fear man, but fear the one who can put your soul in hell… I don’t understand that..

    …The Bible also says if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall (1 Corinthians 10:12). Don’t believe for a minute that you “could never curse God”. He might just take you down a peg or two…

  11. Rachael

    How do you know if you curse God that you can be forgiven of it? I was tested for over 4 years by God. right at the very end of my trials and tribulations, I got fed up, I had enough and I told God that I hated him. I knew it was wrong, but my heart and my spirit was crushed inside. I kept asking God to forgive me, but every time something bad would happen, the urge to curse God would return. My mind has been defiled by my sins. i cant undue my failures. Sometimes people go twenty years before they fail the test. That is why God says to always be on guard of your enemy the devil. I just let too many things get in the way of my Lord and Savior. I let go of his hand during the storm and I sank beneath the waves. Now I have drowned in my sorrows.

    Once you have the Holy Spirit and you go against God that is blaspheming the Spirit. That is why God sends Satan to test us, to test our loyalty. It was God’s idea to test Job, it was not Satan’s idea. God uses Satan to test us. If we fail that test, what is left for us? We have failed God’s testing what does that tell God we are good for? There is no forgiveness for blaspheming the Holy Ghost. If I’m wrong, please correct me and give me hope.

Leave a Reply

